Thursday, March 22, 2012

From the Pearl of Siberia: Altai (Upper Multa Lake)

The Altai Mountains are a complex mountain system of Central Asia extending approximately 1,200 miles (2,000 km) in a southeast-northwest direction from the Gobi (Desert) to the West Siberian Plain, through China, Mongolia, Russia, and Kazakhstan. The jagged mountain ridges derive their name from the Turkic-Mongolian altan, meaning “golden.”

Multa lakes are located in the valley of the river Multa that flows along a comparatively shallow valley of the north slope of Katun mountain ridge western part. Multa lakes are divided into three lakes: Upper Multa lake, Middle Multa lake and Lower Multa lake. 

World Natural Heritage of Russia - The Golden Mountains of Altai

The Belukha Mountain
The Katun River
The Telesskoye Lake


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews