Friday, August 17, 2012

A postcard from Madeira

The Madeira archipelago is located in the Atlantic Ocean, southwest of continental Portugal and is an European autonomous region of Portugal, made up of the island of Madeira, Porto Santo, the Desertas and Selvagens (Wild Islets), the last are uninhabited. The capital and largest city is Funchal located on Madeira Island.

The archipelago comprises the major part of one of the two Autonomous regions of Portugal, the other being the Azores located to the northwest.

Faial is a small picturesque village located on the northeastern coast of the Island named after a local tree known as faia ‘myrica faya’.

Portugese stamps can be used in Madeira.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews