Thursday, December 27, 2012

Ivory Coast | Cote D'Ivoire

Ivory Coast is a West African state bordering Ghana in the east, Burkina Faso, Mali in the north, and Guinea and Liberia in the east. To the south lies the Atlantic Ocean.

The first Europeans to visit the area where the Portuguese and later other Europeans followed. Formal French colonial rule was introduced in the 1880s. In 1904, Ivory Coast became part of French West Africa until 1960 when the country regained independence from France.

The current population estimate is approximately 16 million. Abidjan is the economic and former official capital of Ivory Coast, while the current capital is Yamoussoukro.



Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews