Thursday, January 3, 2013

Sunrise at Sazilé beach, Mayotte

Mayotte is part of the archipelago that makes up the Comoros Islands. The archipelago is located in the Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean, between Madagascar and Mozambique.  Mayotte is an overseas department and region of France.

Taken by Malagasy people from Madagascar at the end of the 18th century, it came under French control in 1843. Together with the other Comoros islands and Madagascar, it became part of a single French overseas territory in the early 20th century. It has been administered separately since 1975, when the three northernmost islands of the Comoros declared independence.

Mayotte uses French stamps. Stamped at Mamoudzou Kawéni post office (ROC code 25309A).


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews