Sunday, March 24, 2013

Turks and Caicos Islands

The Turks and Caicos Islands are located 550 miles southeast of Miami, Florida, just below the Bahamas. The islands consist of 40 islands and cays, eight of which are inhabited. The islands are home to 30,000 full time residents, and welcome more than 200,000 tourist annually.

In 1962 the Turks & Caicos became a British Crown colony and still is one today.

The name of the country comes from these earliest inhabitants: Taino and Lucayan Indians. Turks is a reference to the indigenous Turk’s head cactus and Caicos is from the Lucayan term “caya hico” meaning string of islands.

The Margarita Murex, is a species of sea snail.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews