Saturday, June 15, 2013

Dar Es Salaam - Capital city of Tanzania?

The City of Dar es Salaam (meaning “The abode of peace") is the largest city in Tanzania. In 1974 Dar es Salaam lost its official status as capital city to Dodoma, where the country's parliament and some government offices are located.
So Dodoma is the "official" capital, but many think and feel Dar Es Salaam is still the capital of Tanzania.

Dhow is the generic name of a number of traditional sailing vessels with one or more masts with lateen sails used in the Red Sea and Indian Ocean region. 

In May 2005 Tanzania post issued many stamps about Jules Verne (1828 - 1905), a French novelist, poet, and playwright best known for his adventure novels and science fiction. The Castle of the Carpathians is a novel by Jules Verne first published in 1893.


ady:) said...

Beautiful card!

Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews