Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Flags of the World | Cyprus

The national flag of Cyprus came into use on 16 August 1960, under the Zurich and London Agreements, whereby a constitution was drafted and Cyprus was proclaimed an independent state.

After World War I, Britain annexed the island and in 1925 Cyprus became a Crown colony. From the 1930s, Greek Cypriots campaigned for union with Greece. Archbishop Makarios played an important role in this movement.  The UK proposed instead (in 1948, 1954 and 1955) various forms of internal self-government. But in the end, in 1960, the UK negotiated an independence agreement with Greece and Turkey.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews