Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Flags of the World | Marshall islands

The flag of the Marshall Islands was adopted upon the start of self-government, May 1, 1979.

In 1947 the USA and the UN Security Council signed an agreement putting the "Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands" (most of Micronesia, including the Marshall Islands), under the wing of America.
Thousands of troops and their families were based at the islands. In total 66 nuclear tests were carried out between 1946 and 1958 on Bikini and Enewatak.

After a 1975 referendum, the Trust Territory was split into the separate states of Palau, Federated States of Micronesia, and Republic of the Marshall Islands. In 1979, the Marshall Islands became self-governing.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews