Monday, September 10, 2012

A postcard from the city of Prishtina, Kosovo

Kosovo declared independence on the 17th of February 2008. The small south east European state sits between Albania, Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro. The capital of the Republic is Prishtina, a city of around 500,000 people. The population of Kosovo exceeds 2 million.

As of 1 June 2012, the Republic of Kosovo has received 93 diplomatic recognitions as an independent state.

“Western powers agreed to stop overseeing Kosovo in September 2012, four years after it proclaimed independence, but NATO troops and EU police will continue to monitor the former Serbian province still troubled by occasional ethnic violence.”

Protection–Earth Day stamp from 2008.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews