Friday, November 1, 2013

The British Virgin Island of Tortola

The British Virgin Islands is a British overseas territory located in the Caribbean to the east of Puerto Rico. The four main islands are Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke.
Tortola is the largest and most populated of the British Virgin Islands. The Dutch settled there in 1615 and called it Ter Tholen. When the British took over, they altered the name to its present-day Tortola.

(left) Issued in 2005 as part of a set of four stamps, Fruits Definitive , the Hog Plum.
(right) 2004 FESTIVAL GOLDEN anniversary, horse races. 


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews