Friday, January 17, 2014

The map of Tanzania

Tanzania is located in East Africa. The country is bordered by Uganda, Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, DR Congo, Mozambique, Zambia and Malawi.
Arab traders first began to colonize the area in 700. Portuguese explorers reached the coastal regions in 1500 and held some control until the 17th century, when the sultan of Oman took power.

With what are now Burundi and Rwanda, Tanganyika became the colony of German East Africa in 1885. In 1964 Zanzibar, an island off the coast of Tanzania, and Tanganyika merged into a new country: Tanzania.  

The famous Mt. Kilimanjaro, the highest point of Tanzania, is located in the North. Dar es Salam was the capital of Tanzania but the city of Dodoma became the country's capital in 1973. 


Lena W. said...

Nice card!!! I I would like this card too ;)))))

Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews