Thursday, November 1, 2012

A postcard from Tasmania

Hobart is Tasmania’s harbour capital, located in the south-east of the state at the foot of majestic Mount Wellington. The city was settled in 1804 by Lieutenant Governor Collins and grew rapidly as the clearing house for British and Irish convicts. At that time it was known as Van Diemens Land. Britain finally ended all transportation of convicts to the colony in 1853. In 1855 the colony officially became known as Tasmania.

From a set of six stamps about road trips. This one is picturing Phillip Island, where Little Penguins parade from beach to sand dunes at sunset each eve.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews