Friday, April 10, 2015

Langkawi Islands | Malaysia

Langkawi, since 2008 officially known as Langkawi the Jewel of Kedah is an archipelago of about 100 islands in the Andaman Sea in northwestern Malaysia. Only two of the islands are inhabited.
As for the name of the island, Langkawi is a combination of two words: Lang and Kawi. 'Lang' is a corrupt form of the Malay word 'helang' which means eagle and 'Kawi' means marble. Both are found in abundance in Langkawi. The bird on the card is a White-Bellied Sea Eagle.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews