Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Flags of the World | Australia

After the Commonwealth of Australia was formed, thousands of proposals were submitted by the general public in flag design competitions. The winning design, announced on September 3, 1901, is basically still in use today.

The flag has the Union Jack together with five white multipointed stars in the form of the Southern Cross constellation plus a seven-pointed “Commonwealth Star” (representing the six Australian states and the Northern Territory).


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews