Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Fernando de Noronha Islands | Brazil

Fernando de Noronha is an archipelago of 20 islands in the Atlantic Ocean, about 500 km off the Brazilian coast. It is named after the Portuguese merchant Fernão de Loronha.

Did you know that this Brazilian hidden treasure allows to accommodate only 420 tourists at a given time slot? Being a small island with limited water resources and a fragile ecosystem, there is a maximum number of visitors allowed.

The archipelago is a World Heritage Site since 2001, because of the importance of its environment.

(right) One of two stamps issued 2014 to celebrated diplomatic relationships with Philippines.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews