Saturday, January 6, 2018

Flags of the World | African Union

The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of all 55 countries on the African continent. Established in 2002, to promote unity and solidarity of African states, to spur economic development, and to promote international cooperation.

The AU's most recent member state is Morocco, having joined in January 2017 as 55th member of the AU. Morocco left the predecessor of the AU, the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), in 1984 after the OAU recognised the independence of Moroccan-occupied Western Sahara.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews