Saturday, July 5, 2014

Map of the Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands is located northwest of Scotland and halfway between Iceland and Norway. Since 1948 the Faroe Island­s have been an autonomous country within the King­dom of Denmark. It has its own parlia­­ment and its own flag. It is not, however, a member of the European Union. The population is about 50,000.
The archipelago is composed of 18 islands. The capital Tórshavn is located on Streymoy,  the largest and most populated island of the Faroe Islands.

A stamp depicting the island of Kalsoy, one of the Faroe islands, and a matching map-stamp. 


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews