Monday, July 14, 2014

St Louis Montfort catholic church in Balaka, Malawi

Malawi  is a landlocked country in southeast Africa. It is bordered by Zambia, Tanzania and (for the most part) Mozambique. Once under British rule and known as Nyasaland, the country gained full independence in 1964 and renamed itself Malawi.

St Louis Montfort catholic church is located in Balaka, a district in the Southern Region of Malawi. It is named after Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort (1673 – 1716), a French Roman Catholic priest and Confessor. In 1705 he founded the community of the Missionaries of the Company of Mary, a missionary religious congregation within the Catholic Church. The congregation is made up of priests and brothers who serve both in the native lands and in other countries. 
Malawi issued in 2007 a set of 11 definitive butterfly stamps.


FCpostcrossing said...

I'm wondering if this is one I arranged for you? I asked my friend Emmanuel to send one along :)

Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews