Saturday, August 15, 2015

A postcard from The Comoros

The Comoros archipelago is made up of four islands: Anjouan, Grande Comore, Mohéli and Mayotte. The latter is still under French control.

The islands are a tropical paradise, but somehow doesn’t attract many tourists. Maybe it has something to do with the island’s political turmoil in the past: at least 20 coup d’états since gaining independence from the French in 1975. Or with volcanic activities. The Comoros has the most active volcanoes in the world. These volcanoes are located in the largest of the islands: Grande Comore.

The stamp on the left is part of a set of 6 stamps about Medicinal Plants, issued in 2007. The orchid stamp is part of a set of 4 stamps issued in 2003. 


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews