Wednesday, August 5, 2015

The Lagoon of Cotonou | Benin

Cotonou, with about 800,000 inhabitants, is the largest city of Benin. The city is the seat of the government, while Benin's capital Porto-Novo is the seat of the parliament.
The city is cut in two by a canal, the lagoon of Cotonou, dug by the French in 1855. Three bridges are located in this area. Two of them visible on this postcard.

In 2010 Benin celebrated 50 years of independence. In 1960, Dahomey gained full independence  from France. The country was renamed in 1975 to Benin. 


Linda said...

Beautiful! Thank you for explaining about it, too. :)

Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews