Monday, August 10, 2015

Te Waipounamu | New Zealand

Te Waipounamu is the official Māori name for New Zealand's South Island, meaning "the place of greenstone". Named after the (green) Jade-like stones that can be found in this part of the world.

Te Waipounamu is on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The site incorporates four national parks: Mount Cook, Fiordland, Mount Aspiring and Westland. Milford sound is a fjord is Fiordland National Park. Its highest peak is Mitre Peak with 1,695 metres.  

Mount Taranaki is an active stratovolcano on the west coast of New Zealand's North Island. The stamp is part of a set of 5 definitives, issued 2014. 


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews