Wednesday, September 17, 2014

City of Luxembourg: its Old Quarters and Fortifications

Luxembourg is a landlocked country in Western Europe, bordered by Belgium, Germany and France. Luxembourg City is a commune with city status, and the capital of Luxembourg.  
The Old City of Luxembourg has long been part of the UNESCO World Heritage. Because of its strategic position, Luxembourg was, from the 16th century until 1867, when its walls were dismantled, one of Europe's greatest fortified sites.

Europe stamp 2014, part of a set of two stamps. This year’s theme is traditional musical instruments. The stamp depicts a small group of musicians clothed in historical peasant costumes playing the traditional Luxembourgish song, the “Hämmelsmarsch“, on traditional instruments.


Post a Comment


Free counters!

Total Pageviews